What's wrong with using a computer

About the "Trust this computer?" on the iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Here you can find information about trusted computers and how to change their settings.

Meaning of the device's trust settings

The first time the iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch is connected to a computer or other device, a “Trust this computer?” Warning appears:

  • Trusted computers can be synchronized with the device, create backups, and access photos, videos, contacts and other content on the device. A computer is trusted until you change which computers you trust or delete your device.
  • If you don't trust a computer, access to your device's content will be blocked. The warning will then reappear every time you connect your device to this computer.

Classify a computer as trustworthy

  1. Connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to a computer or other device.
  2. If necessary, enter your passcode to unlock your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  3. If you want your computer to access information on your device, select your device in the Finder and click Trust. If you're using iTunes, click Continue.
  4. Confirm on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch that you allow your computer or other device to access your data. If you don't trust the computer or other connected device, tap Don't Trust on the device. If you want to trust your computer, tap Trust.

Change settings for trusted computers

The device remembers the computers classified as trustworthy.

If you no longer trust a computer or other device, change the privacy settings on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. To do this, go to "Settings"> "General"> "Reset"> "Location and privacy". If you now connect the device to computers that were previously classified as trustworthy, the warning message "Trust this computer?" displayed.

getting support

If you tap Trust or Don't Trust and your answer isn't accepted, or if you don't see the warning, do the following. After each step, check to see if the problem has been resolved:

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of macOS or the latest version of iTunes on your computer.
  2. Disconnect and reconnect your device from your computer.
  3. Restart the computer.
  4. Restart device:
  5. Reset the trust settings.

If the steps above don't help, go to Settings> General> Reset, then tap Network Settings. This will also reset all previously used WiFi networks and passwords, cellular settings and VPN / APN settings.

If you downloaded iTunes for Windows from the Microsoft Store, make sure the iTunes Mobile Device Helper is enabled as a startup item.

If you need further assistance, contact Apple Support.

Information relating to non-Apple products or independent websites that are not controlled or audited by Apple is not intended as a recommendation or endorsement. Apple assumes no responsibility for the selection, performance, or use of third-party websites and products. Apple makes no representations about the accuracy or reliability of any third party websites. Contact the provider for additional information.

Release date: