A1 Steak Sauce is keto friendly
Worcestershire Gluten Free Sauces List
3 Best Worcestershire Sauce Brands For Gluten Free Eaters
Finding a gluten-free Worcester sauce is easy. Lea and Perrins, the most popular brand, is safe for those who eat gluten-free, and there are several other options including one that is gluten-free and vegan (most Worcestershire sauces contain anchovies, which means they are not vegetarian or vegan) .
However, most Worcestershire sauces sold in the United States are not considered safe on the gluten-free diet.
There are three brands that are safe. Worcestershire gluten-free sauce brands include:
- French Worcestershire Sauce
- Lea and Perrins Original (USA only)
- The Wizard's GF / CF Worcester Sauce (also vegan)
Worcestershire sauce gets its distinctive flavor from the tamarind tree, which produces pods that are used in kitchens around the world. In general, it gets its distinctive dark brown color from soy sauce, and that is often not gluten-free. Soy sauce is often the problematic ingredient in Worcester sauce.
Hence, you can't just consume any brand of Worcester sauce and assume it's okay, the chances are it will contain wheat-based soy sauce. Read on for the best Worcestershire sauces to buy if you are following the gluten-free diet.
Worcestershire Gluten Free Sauce Brand List
Here is the list of Worcestershire sauce brands available in the U.S. and what their companies have to say about their gluten-free status:
- Annie's homegrown . Contains gluten. Lots of people turn to Annie's for vegan and organic alternatives to mainstream foods, and some of the brand's products are gluten-free. Unfortunately, Annie's Worcestershire Sauce contains wheat made from conventional soy sauce. Hands off.
- Bourbon barrel . Contains gluten. Bourbon Barrel Worcestershire Sauce is another version of the popular sauce: it is made from sorghum and apple cider vinegar, both of which have a sweeter, spicier taste, are vegetarian (no anchovies) and are aged in bourbon barrels. Unfortunately, it also contains conventional wheat-based soy sauce. The aging of the bourbon barrel could be problematic from a gluten standpoint (as some people react to bourbon, which is made from the gluten grains wheat and barley). But it's definitely problematic because of the wheat-containing conventional soy sauce. It's not gluten free so avoid it.
- Bull dog . No ingredients containing gluten. This is a Japanese brand of Worcestershire sauce that is also available in the US through Amazon and other outlets. The Tokyo-based company, with its vibrant-looking Bulldog emblem, makes a variety of popular condiments, mainly for Japanese and Chinese markets. Bull-Dog's Worcester Sauce does not contain any gluten-based ingredients (especially wheat-based soy sauce). However, the company also makes other sauces with gluten-based ingredients on the same facility so you can't count on it to be safe from gluten cross-contamination.
- French . Gluten free. This is one of the most popular brands of Worcester sauce in the U.S. It contains distilled vinegar (which can be derived from gluten grains), molasses, corn syrup, caramel color (gluten-free), anchovies, tamarind, and spices. This brand is often used in restaurants and other food service applications. The French Worcestershire sauce is called "gluten-free" by the company.
- Heinz . No ingredients containing gluten. This Worcester sauce contains white distilled vinegar (which is mostly made from corn), molasses, high fructose corn syrup, wheat-free soy sauce, and various spices. The Kraft Heinz company endeavors to clearly identify the origin of gluten, and this sauce does not contain any, so it does not contain gluten. Kraft Heinz does not consider it gluten-free, however, possibly because of undeclared gluten in ingredients it sources from other distributors and possibly because of gluten cross-contamination in processing.
- Heinz 57 Steak Sauce with Lea and Perrins . Contains gluten. Yes, Lea and Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free (see below), but Heinz 57 Steak Sauce is not on the list of gluten-free steak sauces. It contains barley in the form of malt vinegar. Therefore, you should protect yourself from this point. If you want a combo Worcestershire sauce steak sauce, you can mix a gluten-free sauce from this list with a gluten-free steak sauce - there are several good options.
- Lea and Perrin's original . Gluten free in the United States only. Lea and Perrins is the Worcestershire sauce that many people think of when they think "Worcestershire sauce." The iconic paper packaging with its burgundy, black and gold label is known for most Worcestershire sauce. Ingredients include distilled white vinegar (which can be made from gluten grains), molasses, sugar, onions, anchovies, tamarind, red pepper, and other spices. This sauce, made by the Kraft Heinz Co., is known as "gluten-free" in the United States. Note that versions sold in Canada and other countries (and on Amazon) have replaced the distilled vinegar with barley-based malt vinegar, which is not gluten-free. When you are out and about, you always know which version you have before consuming it. The Canadian version has an orange label, making it easy to distinguish between the two versions. Kraft Heinz's guidelines are to clearly identify sources of gluten, including barley, on the label. So if the first ingredient is "malt vinegar" rather than "distilled vinegar", it shouldn't be eaten.
- 365 value for every day . No ingredients containing gluten. 365 Everyday Value is Whole Foods' house brand. The company's organic Worcestershire sauce includes organic white vinegar (which can be made from gluten grains), organic molasses, organic cane sugar, organic caramel and various organic spices. The product does not contain any ingredients containing gluten, but is not labeled as "gluten-free".
- The Wizard's GF / CF Worcester Sauce . Gluten free. If you want a gluten-free and vegan Worcestershire sauce, this sauce is probably your only option (in short, to make your own). The Wizard brand, which belongs to the Edward & Sons organic label, offers this Worcester sauce with apple cider vinegar, tamari (gluten-free soy sauce), organic molasses and cane juice, tamarind and various organic spices (including shiitake mushrooms). Note that Edward & Sons make two different versions of Worcestershire sauce: the Original Organic Vegan Worcestershire contains wheat-based soy sauce, so make sure you buy the GF / CF (gluten-free casein-free) variety. The one that contains wheat-based soy sauce has a red and purple label, while the one that contains tamari has a white and purple label. The company points out that the gluten-free variety has a slightly sweeter taste than the gluten-containing product.
- Wine and pepper . No ingredients containing gluten . This traditional twist on Worcestershire sauce contains sherry and hot peppers, making it something of a thicker sherry and pepper sauce than a Worcestershire sauce. Ingredients include vinegar, corn syrup, anchovies, tamarind, spices, red peppers, sugar, and sherry. Worcestershire wine and pepper sauce contains no gluten ingredients, according to the company. The vinegar used may contain gluten-grain vinegar.
A word from
If you're looking for an ubiquitous Worcestershire sauce that you can find in any grocery store, you're sure to find Lea and Perrins Original, which is gluten-free. If you prefer a vegan sauce, The Wizard is your best bet.
It's important to note that in other countries - especially the UK and Europe - Worcester sauce often contains gluten in the form of barley malt. You should avoid Worcester sauce (and unfortunately other condiments like relish and pickles) when traveling, unless you know for sure that malt vinegar was not used.
> Celiac Foundation.What should I eat?Data sheet.
- How do I choose Roman blinds 1
- What is TestRX
- Hire Google ECE students
- Is Amitabh Bacchan really singing
- Who was the first killer robot
- Hyperthyroidism affects your lifespan
- Why didn't anyone criticize the 1997 film Titanic?
- Why don't children learn
- What's your favorite song from KK
- Why does Quora not have a signature function
- Why are SSDs better than HDDs
- Why does Musiq Soulchild always wear sunglasses
- How safe is Facebook now
- What happened to Andre Ingram
- Why do Crimean Russians have no self-determination
- Does atheism exist despite Christianity?
- What different views of freedom are there?
- How can you not regret it
- Who am I in another universe
- Tiny particles can have huge amounts of energy
- Who is better at Showtime or HBO
- What is it like to have a Ferrari
- What is Pete Townsend's favorite guitar
- What the President of the United States ate most